Forum home Fruit & veg
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

What should I feed?

AJBAJB Posts: 49

New to growing veg, I'm confused about what needs feeding and what to feed  with, I'd like to be 'organic' 

I have a couple of courgettes, tumbling tomatoes,potatoes,cucumbers and if they grow minature beans.

Thanks

• AllotmentMaxAllotmentMax Posts: 189

I am relatively new to growing veg and would appreciate some advice on what to feed too?  Thanks

• ItalophileItalophile Posts: 1,731

Different veg have different requirements.

The key to understanding fertilisers - organic and chemical - is the NPK code that you'll see on the packaging. N = Nitrogen; P = Phosphorous; K = Potassium. Each of these three have different purposes in the fertilising process.

Nitrogen encourages leaf growth. In short, anything that is grown for its leaves - salad veg, silver beet, cabbage, etc - benefits from nitrogen. On the other hand, veg that produces fruit - toms, cukes, eggplant, etc - doesn't need more than a minimum amount of nitrogen. Too much nitrogen and they will produce foliage at the expense of fruit.

Phosphorous encourages root growth, flower development and general plant health. Leafy veg doesn't need a lot of it, but the fruit-bearing veg benefit from it.

Potassium (Potash) supports flower production and fruit development. No use to leafy veg, essential for fruit-bearing veg.

The actual NPK figures on the packaging tell you the percentage of each contained in the overall fertiliser. Eg, 7:7:7 means 7% each of nitrogen, phosphorous and potassium. It's called a balanced or all-purpose fertiliser, for obvious reasons.

So, in very simple terms, it's basically a matter of determining into which category your veg falls - leafy or fruit-producing - and using a fertiliser whose NPK ratio matches its needs.