London (change)
Today 27°C / 18°C
Tomorrow 26°C / 17°C
8 messages
07/07/2012 at 00:26

Hi There. I've been using this site for a few months now for various answers to questions as I am a new gardener, but can't seem to find the answer to my current problem.

I am about to repot 2 of my 7 week old Tomato plants into bigger flower buckets, but am in two minds about the compost to use. They have never been outdoors, and are currently in Durstons MultiPurpose Compost, which I use for everything, but as they are now big and quite strong, I am thinking about the fertilizing stage, although they still have no flowers as I sowed the seeds late.

Would I be best carrying on using the MP Compost, and buy seperate fertilizer, or can I use the Durstons Growbag I have, which has fertilizer already included in the mix? And if I used the growbag content in my buckets, would I still need to fertilize them further on down the road anyway?

I'm sorry if this seems a basic question, but I'm a first time grower.

Thanks in advance.

http://s3.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/9663.jpg?width=290&height=350&mode=max

07/07/2012 at 05:48

I would suggest using grobag and then feeding your tomatoes regularly with tomato food - e.g Tomorite - when the first flowers have set and you can see baby tomatoes

Pam x

07/07/2012 at 08:01

I'd plant into normal compost and fertilise separately. Bearing in mind that (a) toms don't like overly rich soil; and (b) don't need a lot of fertiliser. It's a common tendency to pamper tomatoes with lots of water and fertiliser. In fact, they will perform better - produce more fruit - if made to struggle a bit. "Tough love" is the go. Fertilise when the first fruit appears, then - if the roots are confined, as in pots, etc - no more than once a month afterwards. Mine, in the ground, are fed a couple of weeks after planting out, again when the first fruit sets, then only once more later in the season.

07/07/2012 at 08:50