Forum home Fruit & veg
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

advice regarding strawberries for newbie

Hello i am new to gardening and this site.

I am attempting grow strawberries from seeds that I bought from seed at my local nursery. A couple have germinated and I have so far 2 very very small green seedlings.

I have a small north facing rear garden, I was hoping these could be planted at the front of the property in a hanging basket and I would get a small harvest this year, However reading around the internet there are lots of different opinions on this.

Can someone give me there take on this as I thinking of just buying some plants now instead.

P.s they are f1 seeds

• sotongeoffsotongeoff Posts: 9,802

You will struggle to get them big enough grown from seed to flower and fruit in the first year

Next year they should be OK-better in the second year and fine in the third year-then they need replacing

A strawberry grower propagates from runners every year to keep the succession going-what variety are these you are growing from seed?image

• I am on my lunchbreak at work but could find out, I know they are F1 from dobbies off the top of my head. If I put them in pots for this year will they survive the next winter then if they have protection.

P.s if they dont fruit this year do they still make a pretty plant as I dont want to give up on them but im limited to space and am considering buying some  two pound plants from dobbies and hope to get a decent bunch of strawbs off them

Yes to the first part-they only need protection in pots if we get a really long cold spell of below freezing-by march 2014 -seems a long way offimage-you should have size-able plants

If they do produce a flower this year pinch it off- you don't won't them wasting energy trying to fruit much better to build up the plant for the following season