London (change)
Sat 15°C / 11°C
Tomorrow 15°C / 12°C
3 messages
15/06/2012 at 19:42

hi,

my veg beds have taken off a treat, its my first year at this and am so happy with what i have acheived, there will be 4 more raised beds going in for next year ha ha. My question now is what do i do and how long it takes...........i have potatos, cabbage, brocali, beetroot, carrots, onions, garlic, lettice and mangetout peas in the raised beds, all were planted at the start of march.

Also i have a hugh herb pot with, mint, lemon balm, thyme, roesmary, chive and coriander, all are sprouting and growing like a goodun.

My questions are....can i trim the herbs and will they keep growing, if so how much,  and will they all last during the winter.

And for the veg, when do i know when to start uprooting stuff (potatoes, carrot, beets onions, garlic)  and do i just wait till the cabbage and lettice get to the size i want, also how big will the mangetout get before beans appear, they are approx 4 1/2 foot now.

Any help/advice would be so welcome, like i say this is my first year and it would be a shame to ruin it now, and hopefuly i can help people next year, i have enjoyed going out looking after them and watching them grow, it's a hugh buzz.

Thanks. 

15/06/2012 at 20:50

Wow, you really seem to have hit the ground running! It hasn't been an easy year for gardeners so far, but you seem undaunted by the fickle weather.

A few attempts at answering your queries:

The herbs all behave a bit differently but most of them will come back after cutting. Mint and lemon balm are vigorous and will take over if you don't watch them (mint in particular is better in its own pot. But you can move some to a separate pot.) Rosemary will grow to a sprawling bush and will also need a space of its own eventually.