London (change)
Today 21°C / 15°C
Tomorrow 16°C / 13°C
17 messages
22/04/2013 at 14:13
Hi I am about to take on my first allotment in scotland and I want to grow everything. I have some experience growing veg in containers but never anything of this scale and I can't make my mind up. Any advise on what tends to survive better. Many thanks
22/04/2013 at 14:42

To avoid desperation, back ache, hearfelt disappointment and a desire never to garden again, I beg you not to try and grow everything in your first season!!   Take it a bit at a time, grow a smallish paatch of the things you a) like best and b) cost the most.  Maybe something like peas and raspberries (my personal choices only), because a whole allotment space gets very large when you try to do it all at once for the first time.  i do not want to discourage you, but I do know you will discourage yourself if you try to do it all at once - we've all done it, and ended up overworked and with not as much for our efforts as we hoped.  concentrate your energies ad efforots on a few areas, get to do those well and thoroughly enjoy the results, giving yourself a well deserved pat on the back, then move on to the next thing.  I have a dear friend who is retired, very vigourous and energetic, who spends all his time on his allotment and who would be ther first person to agree with 'don't do it all at once.'   The point about gardening, veggies or flowers or fruit, is that you should enjoy it and working yourself into a frazzle at the start ain't enjoying it!   Put in what you really, really wan,t to quote someone, put down some green compost elsewhere and get  yourself into it like a very hot bath, slowly by slowly, it's then wonderfu when you are completely in!! Have great fun, 

22/04/2013 at 15:28