London (change)
Thu 13°C / 9°C
Tomorrow 11°C / 5°C
17 messages
27/08/2014 at 12:22

Hi there,

My partner and I would like to start growing our own fruit and veg - things like tomatoes, onions, rocket, spinach, carrots, beans - all the things we regularly buy and would like to grow ourselves!

We're both total novices but have a bit of money to build some raised beds and eventually a green house.

I'd like to start small and build up as we learn more so wondered if anyone could recommend any good books for beginners? What sort of things should we be thinking about and when is the best time of year to get started

Thanks!

27/08/2014 at 12:48

Make a raised bed and turn over the soil, if it's grass still turn it over and bung on loads of manure, leave it till the spring, you will have a good starting point. As for books I have loads, but the "Expert" line of books is a good starting point they are a good price too. Grow what you like to eat and you wont go far wrong Goldfinch. 

27/08/2014 at 12:52

Thanks Maharg - we're lucky enough to have access to our neighbours manure pile as they keep horses so sounds like step one is to get the bed built and filled with soil and add a load of that!

Will have a look at the 'Expert' books you mention - do you have a link?

Thanks

27/08/2014 at 16:19

www.expertgardening.co.uk

I use the Vegetable and Herb Expert. You can often get these in Charity Shops. They may do one on fruit also.

27/08/2014 at 16:38

They do

27/08/2014 at 16:39

Thanks artjak - will have a look out for that

27/08/2014 at 16:49

Monty dons book is good for the new beginner  .

27/08/2014 at 16:56

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/57749.jpg?width=533&height=350&mode=max

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/57747.jpg?width=544&height=350&mode=max