London (change)
Today 11°C / 5°C
Tomorrow 9°C / 5°C
1 to 20 of 30 messages
30/07/2014 at 18:00

Hi everyone, i've just picked a nice beet & i've got some others looking good now. As i'm a newbie to veg gardening i was wondering what are the best ways to preserve them until i'm ready to cook them?

Lyn
30/07/2014 at 18:44

I keep them in the fridge until I have few, then cook them and open freeze. None of us like vinigar so I dont pickle.

30/07/2014 at 18:53

If you simply mean how to store fresh pulled beetroot until you have sufficient to make a meal, you may be able to keep them for longer if you used the "clamp" method (similar to clamping Beet or Carrots ?

I'm certainly no expert on this method but think it is layering your veg with dry sand or soil and keeping cool and dark.

I imagine either Dove from Above or Welshonion would be able to advise

30/07/2014 at 20:55

I tend to lift and eat the beetroot as they are ready; at this time of year we plan our meals around what's ready in the garden.

During the growing season beetroot keep best in the soil, but they need lifting before the frosts can damage them.

Philippa's right, we used to build a soil root clamp - a smaller version of the way farmers would store fodder beet to feed their cattle through the winter.

This site gives more information https://www.rhs.org.uk/advice/profile?PID=666 

Hope that's helpful 

30/07/2014 at 21:01

Donning me chef's hat....I sometimes make beetroot & lime jelly:

*Boil the beetroot in the normal way, then cut into small squares and place into jar/jars.

*Make up a 1pt lime jelly, instead of using a pint of boiling water, use 1/2pt of boiling water and 1/2pt of (cold) white vinegar - then pour this over the beetroot and allow to set.

31/07/2014 at 15:55

I freeze them once I've boiled and skinned them

31/07/2014 at 16:14