London (change)
Today 13°C / 9°C
Tomorrow 11°C / 5°C
8 messages
11/07/2012 at 09:08

Hi, I woke up this morning to a very sad sight; my lovely plum tree has completely broken off in the rain last night, leaving just the forked trunk, no branches now at all. It had produced a huge glut of fruit this year, like bunches of grapes, so I have been thinning it out over the last month, and cutting off some of the branches, but not enough to save it, it seems. We have a small garden and inherited this tree when we bought the house, and I loved it! Is there any chance it will recover? Should I neaten up the breaks and paint the wounds? Or should we just plant another and say goodbye to our faithful tree?

Also, any recipe ideas for all the green plums?

( I tried to upload a picture but couldn't)

11/07/2012 at 09:37

Sorry, I have no experience of plum trees, but I never give up on any plant straight away.    It might take time, but if the roots are OK, I would leave this in place and just keep your fingers crossed.    In my experience, patience will be rewarded.

11/07/2012 at 09:57

Providing that the plum hasn't broken below the graft, it should grow back. Neaten up any jagged tears by all means, and I would probably apply wound paint to reduce chances of getting a fungal infection in this very wet weather. You should hopefully see new growth this year.

11/07/2012 at 11:06

I'm sorry, but I disagree with Alina about painting the wounds. Nowadays it is widely recognized that painting wounds of trees isn't necessary at all because the trees are perfectly capable of helping themselves by shutting the wounds of from the healthy wood. If and when wounds are still wet this wetness gets closed in and will continue to give way to fungal infections so the tree will get damaged even more.