London (change)
Today 22°C / 16°C
Tomorrow 25°C / 15°C
11 messages
22/06/2013 at 12:43

Hi all,

I have a question regarding repotting of chilli plants, I have raised my plant from seed planted in March it has since flourished and has been repotted 3 times to its current ten inch pot (repotted one week ago) however it has roots coming through the bottom already. It is starting to flower and I am providing a weekly liquid feed with seaweed extract. Surely I do not need to re pot again, all help would be greatly appreciated as I am new to the world of growing fruit and veg

Thanks in advance.

22/06/2013 at 14:57

Hi Lee, I'm growing chillis as well and my final pot size is 7" and they seem to do ok.  They are in very free draining potting mix and are treated 'mean', not fed too often and kept on the dry side.

23/06/2013 at 15:24

Depends on the variety, lee. Some grow into sizeable plants, some stay on the small side. Yours could be the former requiring more growing space. What variety is it?

Agree with Paula about the care, too. Less is better. It will cost you fruit. Very much like tomatoes.

02/07/2013 at 12:34

Just potting on my chillis from 7" to bigger today as recommended

03/07/2013 at 14:41

My jalapeno chilli plant, wich I'm growing on the kitchen windowsill is doing well and looks healthy, but the flowers, along with the stems are dropping off with no sign of any fruit. Anyone know where I'm going wrong?

04/07/2013 at 11:20

Is it getting enough sunlight? And how often are you watering and fertilising? Too much water and fertiliser can cause the flowers to drop.

At the same time, flowers will also drop if they haven't been pollinated. Outdoors, insect activity can help the pollination process. Not that chillies need cross pollination, they're self-pollinating, but the insects foraging in the flowers can stimulate the flowers' internal mechanisms.