London (change)
Today 15°C / 11°C
Tomorrow 15°C / 13°C
1 to 20 of 27 messages
04/10/2013 at 09:11

Hello folks! As the title suggests, I am totally new to the world of veg growing.  Over the winter I will be reading a lot while preparing a small section of the garden to grow some food.  I am not looking at self sufficiency, I am doing it just for fun and, to be honest, a bit of self therapy to clear the mind of mundane things. 

What I am wondering is if I get a cold frame or similar would I be able to get any salad over the winter months?  It would be a great morale  booster if I could get even a bit of lettuce and radishes.  Is this possible and any suggestions as to what may be best?

04/10/2013 at 09:18

Hi Paddy. I don't grow lots of different veg and I don't normally bother with lettuce etc during the winter but I've just sown some lettuce and rocket (about ten days ago) in my little growhouse where I had my tomatoes. A cold frame should be ideal for getting lots of different crops going too. Mine have all germinated so I'm looking forward to having a small crop. Don't know how well they'll survive but fingers crossed.

There are loads of very knowledgeable people here who'll give you great advice on what to do and how well it will work. 

04/10/2013 at 09:21

Hi PaddyGT, you can grow winter leaves in a cold frame such as lambs lettuce, mustard, certain types of cress I think.  There's also a lettuce called Winter Gem, might be worth looking at on Google.  There's probably loads that you can sow now for early crops next year as well.

04/10/2013 at 09:58

Thanks for the replies 

That inspires me to give it a try no matter what happens it will be fun giving something a go right at the start.  Thanks for the info.

04/10/2013 at 16:39

Just give it a go.  Gardening is very much learn as you go.  What works for some doesn't necessarily work for others as we all live in different parts of the country etc.

04/10/2013 at 20:15