London (change)
Today 15°C / 14°C
Tomorrow 16°C / 8°C
6 messages
12/04/2013 at 11:56
I am new to growing your own so i need some advice. Does it matter what compost you start your seedlings in. In my opinion it seems to be taking a long time for them to sprout. They are in a shed and cold frame no heat or is it just the weather. Last year to me they seemed to sprout quicker. I am using a peat based compost this year and is different type from last year.

12/04/2013 at 12:02

I only use multipurpose and never have a problem,I would imagine they are taking longer with no heat for them to germinate. Try them on a window sill where they will get some heat.

12/04/2013 at 12:14
diggers2 wrote (see)
I am new to growing your own so i need some advice. Does it matter what compost you start your seedlings in. In my opinion it seems to be taking a long time for them to sprout. They are in a shed and cold frame no heat or is it just the weather. Last year to me they seemed to sprout quicker. I am using a peat based compost this year and is different type from last year.

You dont say what they are-not all seeds need heat-at the germination stage the growing medium is immaterial to a certain extent-seeds will germinate on kitchen towel if the conditions are right.

12/04/2013 at 12:18

Hi, if you look on the pack of compost you buy, they should say suitable for small seeds, however i have found some of these can be lumpy so I use a garden sieve to get rid of the lumps and to put the thin top layer over the seeds. They are probably taking a long time to sprout as its been so cold. I have had to sow lots of types of seed in my kitchen this year even though I have a green house! Any I have sown outside have taken forever!! good luck

12/04/2013 at 12:22