London (change)
Today 20°C / 13°C
Tomorrow 20°C / 14°C
1 to 20 of 33 messages
27/07/2012 at 10:25

Hi  I am a newbie but want to try and grow more edible garden plants and trees but have limited space.  I would like to grow patio plants and Lilylouise has tempted me on Blueberries in a pot after watching her video of her garden.  My question is, is it possible to grow a fig tree in this country in a pot on the patio.  Would like some advice before I buy a fig tree as they look expensive. I live in the Lancashire area so can get rather cold in the winter but my garden isn't open.  Have you experts got any good advice for me.

Thanks Chris

27/07/2012 at 11:04

I have a fig tree in a large pot and it's doing OK.   I live in central Belgium so winters are much harder than Lancashire.   It gets taken into an unheated shelter for the winter and can be frozen back to its rootstock in the hardest winters but last year, despite -25C nights it produced about a dozen fruit.  It's parent, planted in the ground in a more sheltered garden than mine a few miles away produces dozens every year.

Just make sure you buy a hardy one like Brown Turkey, although I believe there is a newer, hardier variety available in the UK now.   You'll need to give it a topfeed every spring and keep it watered throughout the gowing season.   Keep it sheltered over winter.  Think about lining the sides of the pot with bubble wrap before filling with compost as this gives the roots extra protection from frost.  Use a good John Innes 3 type compost and make sure it doesn sit in a wet puddle in winter.

27/07/2012 at 12:31