London (change)
Today 14°C / 8°C
Tomorrow 18°C / 10°C
16 messages
22/10/2012 at 16:18
Hi guys, I have inherited a huge grape vine that needs managing. In fact it needs reducing by half. Can I cut it back now or should I wait till spring? Cheers Jo
22/10/2012 at 16:59

I prune my grapevine during the mild days in winter,after the colorful leaves have fallen and the blackbirds have stripped off all the grapes.I tie in the growth I want to keep along my pergola and cut back the side and unwanted leaders to a couple of next year's bud notches.I don't think spring pruning a very good idea as the sap may start running..

22/10/2012 at 19:00

I prune mine in October and no later,I did later one year and it really was poor the following year.I grow mine over an arch and cut all the shoots off leaveing a stem going over the arch.It was poor this year but that may be the weather ,it is over 34 years old and I tried to make wine with it but I am not very good at that! I have taken two cuttngs to grow over the fence to see what will happen.

23/10/2012 at 13:41
Thanks guys. I shall give it a go next week. Almost all of the grapes have been eaten now and most of the leaves have fallen.
23/10/2012 at 19:43

Jo, I was told by a person experienced in looking after vines they should always be pruned before Christmas before the sap starts to rise. I have done mine this way ever since and they have always grown well. The leaves have not fallen yet but the blackbirds have had most of the grapes, it is in a sheltered east facing position. 

24/10/2012 at 12:55

Next week is a bit early. Leave it until it is fully dormant, late Nov to early December.

30/10/2012 at 11:09