London (change)
Today 14°C / 8°C
Tomorrow 18°C / 10°C
18 messages
29/05/2012 at 14:18

I'm a beginner and decided to sow sweetcorn to grow in my newly acquired greenhouse (having just moved house). All 13 plants are growing very well and are now over a foot high, after potting on. However as I live in central Scotland I was intending to grow these in the greenhouse but I understand they need the wind to pollinate the group. Could I leave them in the greenhouse with the door open or do I need to move them outside to pollinate? Or would using a brush work instead?

29/05/2012 at 14:23

How big is the greenhouse -these are going to to grow into rather large plants-what are you growing them in?

29/05/2012 at 14:31

They are in groups of 3 in 40cm diameter plastic pots. To be honest I didn't expect all the seeds to germinate - If I'd known I would only have planted 3 or 4. The greenhouse is 9ft x 11ft.

29/05/2012 at 14:51

Honestly-I think you are going to have all sorts or problems trying to grow these in the greenhouse,temperature, watering even access-is planting outside not an option?

29/05/2012 at 14:57

I have loads of space to position them outside (various sunny walls and along the outside of the greenhouse, slightly exposed to the wind though) but assumed it would be too cold to grow them successfully outside in Scotland.

29/05/2012 at 15:04

Might depend on the variety-do you see sweetcorn growing in fields near you?

29/05/2012 at 15:22

I haven't seen any sweetcorn near here but believe some farmers grow it in the Borders (further south) for silage only (presumably as they don't harvest well, but I don't really know). No information on the variety on the packet supplied by 'Beautiful Garden' I'm afraid. 

29/05/2012 at 15:30