12 messages
12/12/2013 at 00:11

Hi Everyone.

This maybe a random stab in the dark. 

I am a University Student and I am current doing a project which involves encouraging people who grow their fruit and veg to donate any excess/waste produce to food banks.

There is an increase in food poverty, which means more people are turning to food banks, however there is a high demand for food but not enough to supply people. There is also a lot of food waste which could potentially be donated.

If anyone has any ideas, input or advice, etc. anything would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for reading

Grace

12/12/2013 at 08:52

Correct me if I'm wrong but don't Food Banks only accept tinned food? The poster I saw at our local shopping centre certainly seemed to indicate that.

Are you also including in your study encouraging users of the Food Banks (where possible) to grow their own foods? Though a novice myself if a cooperative type arrangement was formed I'd happily give time to help others grow vegetables / fruit  in return for help if I needed it and put my surplus produce into the collective pot. I wonder if some allotment societies do this already?

12/12/2013 at 09:44

At my allotment as a society I'm not aware of food being donated to a food bank. I do know that as individuals some 'plotters' do give their excess to local community centres and of course we exchange our goods with one another!

Or we leave our excess outside our 'shop' and any one can help themselves, this would include plants as well.

As a novice allotment holder I'm amazed at the generosity of my new gardening friends.

12/12/2013 at 11:15

I went to talk about food banks recently and they have a strict list of what is acceptable. Unfortunately fresh food, including fruit and veg, is not included.

12/12/2013 at 12:53

why not just give it to your local soup kitchen or even have a word with the salvation army or make soup your self and give it away

12/12/2013 at 13:11