London (change)
Today 13°C / 8°C
Tomorrow 10°C / 5°C
1 to 20 of 21 messages
16/05/2013 at 13:03

Hi,

I'm brand new to gardening and could really use some help ...

I've started a veg patch for my daughter and am not sure if these are weeds or shoots the first one below is where I planted Turnips

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/23631.jpg?width=320&height=240&mode=max

The next is where I planted Parsnips

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/23632.jpg?width=320&height=240&mode=max

Also I planted Onions and Little gen lettuce and need advice as to when and how to thin them ...below are the pics of the "clumps" .. they seem very puny to pull out and replant now ? should I wait til they're bigger?? how big?? 

Onions

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/23633.jpg?width=320&height=240&mode=max

Little gem lettuce (each leaf seems to be an individual plant!)

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/23634.jpg?width=320&height=240&mode=max

Many thanks in advance !!

Alan

16/05/2013 at 18:38

Hello, these are young parsnip plants. Thin them out to about 6" apart. Just carefully, with your fingers, pull out the excess.

http://topveg.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/young-parsnip-plant.jpg

Do the same with the little gem lettuces, you will find that if you pinch out a few together and look at them each one will have it's own roots a a few leaves.

Sorry, I've never grown turnips, don't like them much, and onions I grow from sets (baby onions that you plant). But I think the onions look a bit small to handle. I'd leave them a little longer.

16/05/2013 at 18:44

Thats great thanks Lizzie ... I don't think my parsnips are parsnips then!

seem to have loads of lettuce and not much else!

thanks again ...

Alan

16/05/2013 at 18:50

Parsnips often take a long time to germinate and they aren't very reliable.

Why don't you buy a good book, with photos, about vegetable growing?

16/05/2013 at 18:55