London (change)
Today 14°C / 8°C
Tomorrow 13°C / 11°C
9 messages
16/04/2014 at 14:50

Hello green fingered friends. I am new to the growing game (started this year) and I am a bit worried about the salad leaf growing in my tiny greenhouse. I've sowed in three rows in a medium sized container but I'm worried about the strength of the plants that are growing, some seem a bit flimsy, should I be thinning them out or transferring to individual pots? I've planted two rows of radishes in the same container (at the top)and I can see myself having the same problem with those two. Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks. 

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/42515.jpg?width=276&height=350&mode=max

Lyn
16/04/2014 at 15:34

With radish I find its best to pick the seed one at a time and space them 2 inches apart, do this every 2 to 3 weeks then you will have a constant supply, yours will all be ready at once and you can only eat so many in a week.

Same with the lettuce, think how many you would buy in the shop in a week.

Little and often is the way to go. Unless you are starting a greengrocers of your own.  That would be my dream!

16/04/2014 at 16:28

Lyn's right - it's quite hard not to oversow initially though! I grow some lettuce as  cut and come again and just prick out a few to grow on in a bigger pot which I leave to grow. Then I sow some more a couple of weeks later. It gives a good succession that way. Small seeds can be made easier to handle by mixing with a little sand. You're less likely to get so many in one tray if you do that.

You'll get better at it the more often you do it! 

16/04/2014 at 17:01

Thanks a lot. That's really useful advice!

16/04/2014 at 21:26