London (change)
Today 15°C / 11°C
Tomorrow 15°C / 12°C
11 messages
30/05/2013 at 18:45

Hi,

I have sown Gardener's Delight tomato seeds indoors, and they have grown well; about 30cms each now with good leaf coverage.

I do not have a greenhouse, and would like to plant them outside in suitable growbags (this is my first year at tomatoes too.) Do you think if I start to harden them off, I can plant them outside soon?

I would keep them inside sooner, but they seem to be attracting small flies... Any advice about outdoor tomatoes is really welcome! Thanks!

30/05/2013 at 18:54

As soon as you are fairly sure there won't be a frost you can put them out to harden off. You can always bring them in again at night if it looks like being very cold.Then you can plant them out about a week later. Normally, by now tomatoes can be planted out, but it's been a cold wet spring.

30/05/2013 at 19:04

Good advice from Busy-Lizzie about hardening them off.  Given the cold, wet weather, you need to give them a bit of protection when putting them outside, too.  The trick is to try and keep the rain off and protect from wind.  If you can fashion something out of canes and clear plastic sheet (ie put the plastic sheet up 2 sides of 4 canes and a flap over the top, you will have a much better chnace of them cropping.

30/05/2013 at 19:07

It depends where you are in the country.

I'm near the south coast & have started hardening things off, still with some trepidation. It has been such a late start this year.

Last night was meant to be the last really cold one according to the weather, the minimum is showing nearler 10 degrees from now on, but only just. 

Further north I would guess there could still be frosts, so just start out in the day & in at night for a bit, or covered with fleece. I don't think tomatoes really like being much below 10 degrees. 

Small flies can be a sign of overwatering, although I think they are very common, so not necessarily the case. 

30/05/2013 at 20:30