London (change)
Today 25°C / 17°C
Tomorrow 24°C / 17°C
9 messages
28/05/2013 at 07:39

I am new to vegetable growing and would appreciate your advice.

I have grown runner beans and courgettes from seed. Is it safe to plant out now? 

thanks in advance

KEF
28/05/2013 at 07:54

I've been hanging on with mine but decided to plant both yesterday, they had been hardened off, but I decided if I waited any longer they'd go backwards. It's not been too cold the last few nights and the soil wasn't waterlogged. I did build up the soil around base of both as it was very windy last evening. They look fine this morning & gentle rain will do them good.

28/05/2013 at 10:54

It's such a funny year so far, but I think we have to get on with it if there is to be chance of getting crops - so like KEF I put all mine out over the weekend.  Maybe keep a bit of horticultural fleece or old net curtain to hand in case a chilly night is suggested, then you can nip out and cover them overnight if you think it necessary?  

28/05/2013 at 11:09

Thanks KEF and Bookertoo. I shall get some horticultural fleece. 

28/05/2013 at 11:28

I agree with KEF and Bookertoo. The weather was just too tempting this weekend to leave everything in the greenhouse and so I planted out MOST of the Toms, Courgettes etc. I also have the fleece on standby and did keep a few plants in the greenhouse just in case.

I am usually an all or nothing person but think that it is not such a bad idea to occassionally sit on the fence when it comes to guessing the British weather. When I was at the GC this weekend they still had stacks of veg plants for sale and so if we do have a disaster within the next week or so, there will be plenty of time to replace as necessary.

28/05/2013 at 11:53

I leaving my toms and courgettes inside, still too cold at night. With to courgettes I have just been potting on & on, rather than risk them outside. My outdoor toms wont be out until the night temperatures above 10c constantly.