London (change)
Today 26°C / 16°C
Tomorrow 24°C / 16°C
8 messages
19/04/2012 at 09:02

Hello, I am new to gardening, especially to growing vegetables.

I have 3 seeds of butternut squash hunter variety growing in pots inside next to my south facing window. They currently each have 3 leaves on. All was going well (watered regularly, liquid fed every week) however this week I noticed that the larger round leafs have started to develop yellow-white speckling (which is starting to darken in small areas) and the smaller, longer leaves are starting to curl at the edges.

Any suggestions of what could be going wrong? I have read on some forums that it could be mildew but I could say the speckling is powderary. 

Many thanks!!!

Stephanie

19/04/2012 at 12:54

I grew the Hunter variety last year and had some mildew probles but still fruited. I can't rember if the seed packet said mildew tolerent! I do think it too early to be feeding, I peronaly would feed them when they are quit big (not seedling size) or before fruiting starts. there are varietys withch are more tolerent to mildew but unforchantly wet weather promots the mildew

19/04/2012 at 13:13

also, the seedling leave will die off this is normal. the true leaves will be the next set of leaves has this got the spots on it? don't overwater

20/04/2012 at 08:59

The next set of leaves are just starting to come through, so far they look ok but I will keep an eye on them. Thanks for the advise! 

11/05/2012 at 17:08

Having similar troubles with B Squash leaves curling at edges though no spots. Seedling leaves dying off - I was once told that this happens when the plant is stressed. They are on the kitchen windowsill 2 plants per 4 inch pot waiting to be potted on. I don't think I've over-watered. Just wondered how yours are doing Stephanie17

10/06/2012 at 13:37