Forum home Fruit & veg
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

problems with pear tree

Hi all, Ive been in my new house now for two summers and our old Pear tree is having problems,I had it pruned last year after a bumper crop. During the winter storms it took a real battering even lifting it from the soil its an old tree

this years fruits are looking like this

all the fruit is like this also the leaves,fruit higher up appears to be in better shape,Im a novice gardener so im a bit lost.should the tree be taken out the base is very rotten.would appreciate any help   john.

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Posts: 88,139

Bumping up image

Gardening in Central Norfolk on improved gritty moraine over chalk ... free-draining.

• artjakartjak Posts: 4,167

and another bump...someone is bound to come along soon who can answer thisimage

• Lion SLion S Posts: 263

Goodmorning  john boy3,

Your Pear tree is suffering from Brown Spot Disease. Scientific name: Stemphylium vesicarium.

Root damage is indeed possible, but the wound in the first picture looks like it's an old one which the tree has already healed itself. If you open that wound again, you'll also cut through the barriers inside  which may lead to another infection or it may start rotting away. My advice would be to leave that wound intact.

I think you should take your picture to a fruit nursery and ask their advice, maybe even ask if they have the time to come and have a look at it. Old trees are very valuable for birds and other wildlife and most of the time they make a excellent feature in a garden.

• Hi all, sorry about the late reply life got in the way.Ive had another look at the base of the tree and theresa large hole goes right through full of wood lice,I think I may need to get someone in to have a look. many thanks for the help and advice much appreciated.

• Lion SLion S Posts: 263

Hi Buddyboy,