9 messages
27/12/2013 at 12:57

Got an allotment this yr and am thinking of putting some raised beds. Looking around at my fellow gardeners there doesn't seem to be many raised beds. Or shall I just divide the plot into sections so I'll know what to grow and where? I'm still learning how to grow my veggies. Advice needed. Thanks.

27/12/2013 at 13:22

Raised beds have disadvantages too Weyplotter.  Crops can dry out very quickly, for example.

Your fellow gardeners haven't raised beds, maybe, for a good reason.  

I would concentrate on growing your crops by enriching your soil, rotating your crops and understanding your soil, crop requirements and local conditions.

Raised beds can be very good ESP in areas prone to waterlogging or where soil is very heavy but they aren't  a solution to everything.  as you said, "learn" how to grow your crops first.  

Good luck 

27/12/2013 at 20:26

Thank you so much Verdun your advice much appreciated and will be taken on board.

Did make a fair amounts of mistakes this yr due to my keenness and I guess impatience to get the seeds in. So although some of the crops did well I'm pretty sure it was due to luck and not knowledge. 

27/12/2013 at 21:15

We all make mistakes Weyplotter.  We are all impatient.  We are all over eager.  When things grow well it is down to our "skill".  When they fail it is down to bad luck 

27/12/2013 at 22:34