London (change)
Today 27°C / 16°C
Tomorrow 24°C / 16°C
7 messages
20/07/2013 at 11:30

As mentioned in a previous post; I'm a total newbie when it comes to growing fruit & veg. I have one well established, healthy rhubarb plant which produces really nice fruit I'd like to split the crown so I can get some new plants established (you can never have enough rhubarb!) when is it best to do this & more to the point HOW do I do it?  Can the new crowns be planted into their final position immediately or is it best to start them off in a pot first? 

20/07/2013 at 12:42

I don't consider now is the right time to split the crown, while it is still producing stems.  Wait until the plant has died down naturally in the Autumn then you can dig it up and split it with a saw, chopper or whatever is appropriate.

If you sever the roots now to divide it you may lose it all.

20/07/2013 at 14:52

As above post. If the current plant is healthy and producing a good crop, why bother? Why not try introducing some different varieties for the future? I would get an earlier or later variety depending on what you already have. I found my rhubarb varieties at the local market being offered for sale in early Spring. Job done!

20/07/2013 at 16:19

Wait till autumn when the stalks and leaves have died down then dig it up - you'll need to dig deep to get it intact - and split it with a saw or a bread knife depending on the size.