London (change)
Today 17°C / 13°C
Tomorrow 14°C / 8°C
16 messages
21/04/2013 at 08:45

Hi there, I'm a teacher about to impart some of my limited of knowledge of planting to 4/5 year old children. I wanted to show how fruit and veg grow from seeds and was going to get them to split a runner bean open, identify the 'seeds' and then plant the seeds from the bean. It's to demonstrate the life cycle etc rather than buying a packet of beans/seeds to grow. Will this work? I have tried it at home but after a few days the seed remains a small pale seed without change. Any help or advice would be warmly welcome.

Thank you.

21/04/2013 at 09:11

Hi Wendy. For the bean (seed) to be truly viable it needs to be mature which it isn't straight from the pod. Beans for sowing are left on the plant to dry out completely before harvesting for sowing. Given your time-frame, your best bet is probably to buy some dried beans, take the fresh bean (seed) from a pod, show them the difference and explain it. The fresh bean (seed) will, eventually, turn into the dried one. Then plant the viable dried one.

21/04/2013 at 18:34

Thank you for that. We'll add that to the lesson - observe the changes and plant etc. Thanks again.

22/04/2013 at 00:17

If I remember from primary school - many years ago - runner beans were grown so we could see how they developed.

Buy a packet of beans suitable for growing from a garden centre or most supermarkets. This cannot be avoided.

1 You can split a bean to show its various parts.

2 Place a cylinder of blotting paper (I'm sure they still sell it) in a glass vessel with water at the bottom and place an undamaged runner bean seed between the glass and the blotting paper.  It will germinate and grow. It can be observed and drawn if the children are of a suitable age group.