London (change)
Today 13°C / 11°C
Tomorrow 15°C / 14°C
1 to 20 of 36 messages
08/03/2014 at 18:18

Hi folks, I purchased what I thought was a raspberry plant......never grown them before so please forgive this question, but from the picture below, is this a single plant or is it three plants / canes? Do I plant it in the ground as one, or split it into three? Thanks in advance!

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/39147.jpg?width=360&height=350&mode=max

08/03/2014 at 18:20

That's one plant with three canes (stems) - plant as one plant 

08/03/2014 at 18:23

Ah, thanks Dove. So will it develop more canes over the years? Do you know if it will produce fruit in its first year in the ground? 

11/03/2014 at 14:14

Anyone got any advice on what kind of feed to put on veg cos I'm new to this game 

11/03/2014 at 14:28

Tootles - those are Polka if my old glasses are working correctly.  I planted some last spring and was picking raspberries from August to November!!!  

Plant them, cut them down to just above ground level and stand well back!  They'll send up new fruit-bearing canes shortly.  The ones I planted last year are now sending up new canes and making a bid to take over the fruit patch!!!  

And they are a lovely raspberry.  We froze three boxes and ate them at Christmas as well as having them for meals throughout the autumn 

Steven, I use Fish Blood & Bone, and occasional scatterings of proprietary Chicken Manure pellets on my veg patch - I get them when the GC is doing a BOGOF which they seem to do about now each year. 

I also add well-rotted farmyard manure and/or homemade garden compost in the autumn or early spring. 

11/03/2014 at 14:33

Thanks dovefromabove I have some of that blood fish and bone do I just sprinkle that on the soil where the veg is or do I dig it in first 

11/03/2014 at 17:02