London (change)
Today 20°C / 14°C
Tomorrow 21°C / 16°C
11 messages
12/07/2012 at 15:18

Hi again,can anyone suggest the best tasting new spuds they have grown as im new to allotmenting and am planning what to plant next year, size of crop is not important as theres only 2 of us so im after good quality spuds ,onions also to make a good cheese and onion sarny like the old cheese and Spannish onion cob or roll we used to get in the pubs in days gone bye, also any advise on stuff that youv tried and tested,

cheers

12/07/2012 at 16:58

This year i grew Homeland as my first earlies  They were quite small but the taste was fabulous  I would recommend them and will grow them again next year myself

12/07/2012 at 17:02
susan howard2 wrote (see)

This year i grew Homeland as my first earlies  They were quite small but the taste was fabulous  I would recommend them and will grow them again next year myself

Homeland -or Homeguard????

12/07/2012 at 19:12

I have never heard of homeland potatoes,I have grown homeguard which become masive if left in the ground untill late summer,iI am growing BF15 for the first time which is a sport of Belle De Fontenaye,(Realy tasty),for main crop its Foremost,which  is reliable and tasty,and another one which i cant remember the name of,uggly? but good flavour

12/07/2012 at 19:37

I grew Rocket this year and while they taste good, they are very pale in colour and leave you wondering a bit.  The best results I've had in previous years, especially on our allotment, was the Maris variety -- I believe it was Maris Peer but you should be able to get a good selection at most garden centres or nurseries.  Best bet is to ask your fellow allotmenteers, they are bound to have good advice to give, especially if they've been on the site for a few years.

12/07/2012 at 21:05