1 to 20 of 42 messages
13/04/2014 at 18:48

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/42293.jpg?width=600&height=350&mode=max

Hi everyone I'm looking for a bit of advise on the strain of tomato I have selected this year and was wondering if anyone had any experience with this strain of plant. I have planted 31 seeds and every one germinated and all of them bar one is establishing itself into a vigorous plant. I wanted to try something that I haven't grown before and something that would be a good pick for the UK weather as I grow outdoors but I'm new to tomatoes. I selected tomato black Russian for my main-crop. I did some research and this seems to be a perfect selection to withstand our dodgy climate and the tomatoes are said to be a good one for canning and also eaten off the vine and are said to have a somewhat smokey and good combination of sweet to acid ratio. They are said to have an old school flavor and were developed in Russia. I started them off in individual pots around 2 months ago then re potted them into larger pots around 6 or 7 inches tall around 2 weeks ago and ever since they have shot up and are now all about a foot or more tall. I keep them in windowsills at the moment and don't get 8 hours full intense sun but seem OK. The compost I used was one that said it had up to six weeks of feed in it but I'm not sure if I should feed them now as I was told this strain is a very greedy feeder so should I supplement the feed and if so what is a good organic feed? How often should I be feeding? and what are the signs  over and under watering? When should I start hardening them off and for how long before I start to leave them out all night? Does anyone know if this strain has resistance to some fungal problems I keep reading about we get over here in the UK? I live in the midlands in Derbyshire. Any advice will be appreciated thanx

13/04/2014 at 20:47