London (change)
Today 15°C / 14°C
Tomorrow 16°C / 8°C
17 messages
09/06/2014 at 00:02

This is my first year with a new poly-tunnel.

I planted loads of tomato seeds (from the same packet) into trays and when they'd grown large enough I transplanted them into small pots inside the poly-tunnel.

When they were large and healthy enough I planted 11 of the tomato plants inside the poly-tunnel and the rest of them outside in a small plot of their own.

The bed inside the poly-tunnel where I planted the tomatoes had a few large bags of compost (bought from a supermarket) dug in to help the soil.

At the same time as planting the tomatoes I also planted sweet peppers between the tomato plants.

The tomato plants outside are doing just fine but 9 of the 11 plants inside the ploy-tunnel have gone yellow and died and the other two are just hanging on a bit longer

The sweet peppers are doing just fine with no problems.

I don't understand what is happening and no one else on our allotments seem to know either.

Maybe you can shed some light on why the tomato plants in the ploy-tunnel have all but died whereas the ones outside are thriving?

Surely if it was something in the soil the sweet peppers would have suffered as well?

09/06/2014 at 00:55

Odd that the peppers are coping but the toms aren't. They're twins in terms of growing requirements. When you say they've gone yellow, have there been spots on the leaves? Has the yellowing been gradual or rapid? If the peppers weren't coping I'd be wondering whether the toms are getting sufficient ventilation, overheating perhaps.

09/06/2014 at 05:13