London (change)
Today 26°C / 18°C
Tomorrow 28°C / 20°C
1 to 20 of 26 messages
26/07/2013 at 12:33

Have loads of fruit on my tomato plants in greenhouse.  Some of the fruit is being shaded by all the leaves.  Is it ok to cut the leaves off to allow light to get through.  This is my first year with green house and growing tomatoes so bit of a novice at the mo but am really pleased with the amount of tomotoes on the plants, can't wait for them to ripen

26/07/2013 at 12:37

Tomatoes don't need light to ripen, it's the warmth they need, so you don't take leaves off for that reason - but  I remove the lower ones so that they don't pick up viral infections from water splashing on the soil, and then when the first truss has set I remove all the leaves below that.  Some people remove more.

26/07/2013 at 12:51

Some people remove less!

26/07/2013 at 12:55

26/07/2013 at 13:11

Ah, Laurel & Hardy come to the forum!

LL, Dove's right about the temperature ripening the toms, but it's a good idea, too, to thin out some of the foliage if it's forming thick clumps. Air circulation is a good aid against fungal problems and clumps of leaves stifle air circulation.

26/07/2013 at 17:10

I cut off about 6" of some of the longer leaves which are over 12" in length.

26/07/2013 at 19:27

I agree with Italophile - good air circulation is essential to reduce the chance of fungal problems.  Exactly how you do this is up to you, just as long as you do do it!

27/07/2013 at 10:27

You usually end up with impenetrable clumps of foliage when you get branches crossing over each other and lying on each other. It's easiest just to cut off any branches that are crossing. The plants needs foliage for photosynthesis but will cope perfectly well with a lot less foliage than they produce.

27/07/2013 at 11:05