London (change)
Today 18°C / 10°C
Tomorrow 18°C / 13°C
1 to 20 of 137 messages
    29/11/2011 at 12:38

From novices to veg-show veterans, this is the forum for anybody who loves to grow edible crops.  Discuss the dos and don’ts of tomato growing, the pros and cons of potato cultivation and wade into the debate on chemical vs. organic gardening.

Daniel Haynes

Editor, gardenersworld.com

03/12/2011 at 11:40

As one of Jordan's Cereals "Wildlife Heroes" I. of course favour organic gardening, which may seem strange for an erstwhile research chemist but I do believe we have to live in harmony with the natural world, which we are a small part of with a very large influence, if we are to survive as a species.  We gardeners look after a great deal of land in this country and, if we all put 10% of it aside for wildlife in our gardens the effect would be considerable.  I have been growing crops organically in my garden for 47 years and do not get the pest troubles other gardenrs have who spray chemoicals about because the garden is in equilibrium.  Frogs, hegdehogs and birds keep down the slugs and snails; ladybirds eat the aphids; healty plants in healthy soil shrug off blackspot and other fungal diseases.  There, Daniel, I have waded in!

04/12/2011 at 11:58

You certainly have, happymarion! Is there a pest or problem that you find can't be kept in check by 'organic' means?

04/12/2011 at 13:38