London (change)
Today 17°C / 10°C
Tomorrow 16°C / 9°C
1 to 20 of 25 messages
18/02/2013 at 21:20
Hello folks, may I ask what else other than tomatoes and cucumbers is good to grow in a greenhouse? It's my first year as a proud owner of one. Can I grow onions and garlic in them? Thanking you for any tips!
18/02/2013 at 21:24
You can grow your onions and garlic outside, I grow chilli, herbs like basil , and I use mine for flowers sowing/seedlings, making cuttings from plants etc .
I don't grow much veg but if that is what you prefer to grow I am sure someone will point you in the right direction .
18/02/2013 at 21:25
Onions and garlic are hardy so may be happier out in the elements. Peppers, chilies, aubergines will appreciate the gh shelter.
18/02/2013 at 21:29

Last year was my first year with a proper greenhouse (not a plastic one that I had to lash to the concrete fence posts with rope!). I grew cucumbers, greenhouse toms, aubergines and peppers. I have over wintered my little bay as have lost bays 2 years running out of doors. And have an apricot ready to do in a fan shape on the back wall - it is a lean-to greenhouse. I too grew basil and coriander, also strawberries.Aubergines were a grafted type, expensive but worth it.

18/02/2013 at 21:34

Tootles dont be in a rush-there are stil plenty of cold nights to come-dont go putting out tender veg or seedlings in the greenhouse yet

18/02/2013 at 21:36
Weather man Geoff has spoken.... be warned
18/02/2013 at 21:40
Thanks sotongeoff. I'll hold fire and perhaps just buy some seeds for now. Heck, I planted some kohl rabi seeds and they are up too! Luckily there are lots of seeds in the packet so enough to take-two when it is warmer.
18/02/2013 at 21:45
I'll get some basil and chilli seeds ooh and aubergine too!

Thanks sooooo much for the advice folks.

I am warned bunnysgarden! Am still a novice and can't hold my water - I'd be out there now if it wasn't for an early start for work tomorrow!
18/02/2013 at 21:51