Forum home Fruit & veg
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

What type of peas.

Hi i am a newbie and want to start with something i have been told is easy, so peas it is.

Question : what kind of pea seeds do i buy as there is so many different one to choose from. What one is the best ?

• Hi figleaves - who told you that peas are easy?   Mice will eat the seeds and slugs will eat the shoots - but maybe you don't have  mice and slugs image  But whatever you grow there will be trials and tribulations - part of the fun of gardening so don't let me put you off.

The best way to start is to grow something you like to eat - that gives you a sense of purpose.  So if you like peas, which sort do you like?  Ordinary garden peas that you take out of the pods, or the types where you eat the pods as well like mange tout and sugar snap?

What's your veg patch like?  How much room have you got?  Some peas grow quite tall and needs lots of support from canes and netting - other varieties are not so tall and not quite so demanding of support.

Lots of info here to have a look at  http://www.bbc.co.uk/gardening/basics/techniques/growfruitandveg_growingpeas1.shtml 

and please don't hesitate to come back and ask us lots more questions.

There's nothing as rewarding as eating something you've grown.

Good luck image

Gardening in Central Norfolk on improved gritty moraine over chalk ... free-draining.

• Alan4711Alan4711 Posts: 1,657