London (change)
Today 26°C / 18°C
Tomorrow 27°C / 19°C
1 to 20 of 32 messages
21/04/2014 at 12:47

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/42892.jpg?width=514&height=350&mode=max

Any ideas what has do e this to my new plants and what can I do to prevent it.

i assume the ones in the ground will not recover?? 

Many thanks in advance 

21/04/2014 at 13:02

Mine did exactly the same on previous attempts, so far so good this time though.  From what I have read on here it may be Cabbage White butterflies, I had no idea they could do so much damage until I read it in here.  I think (but someone may correct me)  you need to cover with net, not sure about whether they will recover??

I'm still quite new to gardening so no doubt someone else will come along with more advice for you (and me ).

21/04/2014 at 13:32

That looks very much like woodpigeon damage to me.  Do you have those in your area?  If so, the only prevention is netting.  Without nets, they have devastated my brassicas in the past.

21/04/2014 at 13:47

We do have a lot of pigeons, there is no physical evidence of caterpillars, so it could well be those 

21/04/2014 at 14:24

I would guess at pigeons too, they make a real mess of cabbages, very disheartening, but its a lesson we've all learnt by painful experience.

I use scaffold debris netting, its fine enough to keep out the butterflies too, if you buy it in a roll it works out quite reasonable and lasts for years.

You can make hoops from the 20mm blue flexible water piping to support the netting.

21/04/2014 at 15:19

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/42910.jpg?width=518&height=350&mode=max

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/42911.jpg?width=518&height=350&mode=max