London (change)
Today 22°C / 16°C
Tomorrow 22°C / 15°C
8 messages
17/10/2012 at 22:14

I am new to Trough raised Beds I was wondering is there anything I can grow s I Live In the North East Scotland Dundee, I was wondering if frost would be a consideration 

jimjam

18/10/2012 at 10:10

Onions sets and broad beans can be sown now. The beans may need covering with a fleece. Mine did very well until February when it was very cold, (I hadn't put a fleece on them)  but sometimes it's OK. The vegetables that are hardy are kale, brussels sprouts, winter cabbages, broccoli and leeks. But it's too late to sow. You may be able to find some plants, but it's still a bit late. Winter gardening I've found is a bit hit and miss.

18/10/2012 at 12:04

From what I've seen on Beechgrove which is filmed near Aberdeen, the best way for you to get veggies through the winter is to protect them with fleece if they're out in the open or grow them in polytunnels.  I suggest you have a browse through their Fact Sheets to see if any offer advice - http://www.thebeechgrovegarden.com/factsheets 

I garden in central Belgium which can get seriously cold and I haven't got any winter veg through for the last 4 winters but strawberries survive, as do blueberries, blackcurrants and other soft fruits and rhubarb crowns.  Winter kale and broccoli, Swiss chard, garlic, leeks and onions have all been frozen to mush.  This year I'm trying these again but will be giving them cloches or fleece covered frames for protection against the worst of the winds and frosts.

03/11/2012 at 19:42

With regards to winter sowing I have been told that fleece can be substituted by thick black bags cut along the seems and earthed over to hold them in. Now as I have never done this before I cant comment on its effectiveness but does anyone see this as being wrong. In a few days ill be putting in some red and white onion sets and some garlic cloves and covering them up in the above way.

Am I wrong,Paul