London (change)
Today 15°C / 11°C
Tomorrow 15°C / 13°C
8 messages
26/04/2013 at 19:47

Hi all.

Can you give any advice please regarding how best to bring on 2 inch tom plants in 3 inch pots particularly watering and feeding. and at what size or state of development should I plant them on into growbags. They are at present in a cold greenhouse.

thanks in advance. Peter.

26/04/2013 at 20:04

Hi Peter

Keep them covered if frost forecast, water when the compost seems a bit dry.  I don't normally plant mine into growbags until early June, and I start feeding them with tomarite at that stage too.  I'm not an expert, but I don't think little plants like too much in the way of feed.

Hope this helps

KEF
26/04/2013 at 20:05

Mine are that size, same size pots but still in my conservatory, Chilly in S. Yorks. I have them in multi-purpose compost which is usually ok until I plant them in final pots in cold greenhouse. I don't usually feed until first truss has set.

Today they looked a little pale so I've fed them a VERY weak seaweed multi veg liquid feed. I only water them when the pots feel light, they're usually fine with this. Unless you have heat in greenhouse, or in a warm area, which I assume you are, I would wait until they need supporting before putting in grownbags, might need water twice a day in current pots if weather warm..maybe keep a check on colour of them as I have done.

Hope this has helped...so wish mine could go in greenhouse..I've still got herbs and other stuff in there that I daren't bring out, frost due for tonight.

26/04/2013 at 20:12

Peter I've just potted mine on into 6" pots from little 3" ones as the  roots were just getting to bottom of pot. They are around 9"/10" in size with plenty of leaves and I'll wait a little again before putting into their final home. As chicky says-too early to feed just now-wait till they are setting fruit -ie when the flowers are dying back- so a while to go yet!