Forum home Garden design
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Advice On Garden Design

http://plans.garden-planner.net/uploads/plan-previews/315908.jpg

This is my plan for my backyard food garden. i am a beginner and i dont know what i am doing some advice would be very beneficial. Any advice on what plants should not be planted togehter? what should be added to make it more productive? I was wondering how much yield each plant will produce, it would really help if you can also provide an estimate amount too. Thank you.

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Posts: 88,139

You have a neighbour who posts on here sometimes known here as The Big Cob - perhaps he'll pop around and give you some advice.  I believe he's also very keen canning veg.

When you say yield - it will depend to a certain extent on how you intend to use your crops - what plans do you have for the Catmint, for example?

Gardening in Central Norfolk on improved gritty moraine over chalk ... free-draining.

• sotongeoffsotongeoff Posts: 9,802

There seems to be some sort of default mechanism that places people in Tower Hamlets-they could be posting from abroad and early in the morning in the UK- and by the the terminology of "backyard" my guess is that Hamsa is from the USA-perhaps?image-or notimage

Your plan seems to be roses, some herbs and tomatoes -why roses?-this is a garden- talk of yields makes it sound like a farm.

All a bit confusing and not even sure if this is a genuine question.

Post a picture of your "backyard"- that might be more beneficial

Geoff, I think Hamsa is aka The Great Cob aka Plainleaf. Something about the style, or lack of it, rings a bellimage

Gardening in Central Norfolk on improved gritty moraine over chalk ... free-draining.

Is that the same person who complained of wild boar eating the lawn?-we never heard from them again either-another one from Tower Hamlets.