London (change)
Today 13°C / 8°C
Tomorrow 12°C / 9°C
1 to 20 of 25 messages
15/10/2012 at 12:18

Hi,

I am a Part 1 RIBA architecture graduate and I recently helped my mother with some design ideas for redesigning her garden.  The landscape contractors who took on the job mentioned that I had done a very good job in redesiging a difficult space.

This led me to think how much I enjoy nature, creating habitats for wildlife and outdoor spaces.  I am now thinking about a career in garden design but I'm not sure what course would be best for me!   As an architectural graduate I already have skills in CAD, presentation and spatial design but I have very little knowledge of horticulture.  I used to work in marketing too, so I am experienced in business and working with clients.  

Any help, advise or course/college recommendations are very welcome.

Kentish Maid

15/10/2012 at 12:19

Why not start with looking at the Royal Horticultural Society website as they do plenty of courses and recommend others.  www.rhs.org.uk

15/10/2012 at 12:21

I seem to remember this has come up in the past-perhaps this might help?

http://www.rhs.org.uk/Courses/Careers

15/10/2012 at 12:33

Muddyfork thank you for replying. Amongst others I have already looked at the rhs website but it seems I do not fit into a specific study route. I was told by a college that unless I do the BSc in Garden Design I cannot legally be recognised as a Garden Designer.  I feel I already have the skills and experience to design space and would like to find a course that can help build my knowledge and confidence in plants and knowing how to include this into a garden design.  If anyone can recommend a course that would be great!

15/10/2012 at 12:34

Sotongeoff - Thanks for the link.  I just contacted the rhs careers number but unfortunately they no longer give careers advise anymore - they explain that they're website content is sufficient.  Frustrating!!

15/10/2012 at 12:41