London (change)
Today 11°C / 10°C
Tomorrow 12°C / 9°C
7 messages
09/08/2013 at 20:01

Hi

I'm pretty new to gardening and only this year graduated from pots to actually digging out a proper bed. All summer I have had Poppies, Sunflowers, Cornflowers and Lavender in this new flower bed.

It is at the front of the house in full sun and heavy clay soil. I have no idea what to do with it over the winter so it looks pleasant. I want to plant something in it to keep the colour and I have been thinking of pansies and crocuses plus daffodils and such like.

I was also thinking of one of those red dwarf dogwoods but I wouldn't want it to be in the way of summer flowers next year.

Can anyone give suggestions?

I have attached two photos. One of the bed when it was first planted and one taken yesterday.

Thank you.

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/29084.png?width=512&height=350&mode=max

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/29085.jpg?width=658&height=350&mode=max

09/08/2013 at 22:02

A bed in winter will never look as good as a summer bed, but with careful planning you can have something in flower most of the year, though not very much in winter. Bulbs are a good bet, starting with snowdrops and chionodxa (Glory of the Snow). To bulk it out a bit, especially if there is a bit of shade, hellebores - but the leaves will still be there in summer. Violas are lovely, planted in the autumn they will be a mass of flowers once the weather starts warming up. Here is a link to the RHS page on Daphnes some of which flower in winter, smell wonderful and aren't too big.

09/08/2013 at 22:15

Thank you Busy-Lizzie

I got that page on Daphnes and they look ideal for me. I especially like that they are fragranced as i walk past the spot to get to my car. 

That's all great information

Thanks again

09/08/2013 at 22:38
10/08/2013 at 14:01

Thanks Busy-Lizzie

10/08/2013 at 15:34