London (change)
Today 15°C / 11°C
Tomorrow 15°C / 13°C
10 messages
24/10/2013 at 17:16

Hi guys,

I recently moved to London and managed to find myself a ground floor flat with a nice garden in the back. I'm a total newbie when it comes to gardening, and in fact a garden is not something I was especially looking for when moving, but now that I have one I was thinking it'd be nice to start taking care of it and hopefully I'll enjoy gardening and manage to build a good looking one in the process.

So, basically, I'd like to know if you can give me some ideas on what kinds of things to plant on it and beginner resources to start reading from. I don't know how good is the London weather for this kind of things, but having some bushes and colorful flowers (on Spring/Summer) would be ideal. I'm not thinking on growing anything to eat apart from maybe some fruit plants.

Attached to the post are some pictures I took of the garden the other day. It is facing west. The part more closer to the back has sun (when it's sunny in London) pretty earlier as there are no nearby buildings. The part closer to the window you can see in the pictures usually only gets sun durong the afternoon when the sun is setting.

My idea would be to get rid of what's on it at the moment as it's not pretty and start planting more interesting stuff on it.

Thanks a lot for your time!
B

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/swmiclpbgyqr7o6/1aO2trWRfV

24/10/2013 at 17:25

...ooh..I'd love to go to town on that one.... a fine cosy garden in prospect.... get rid of the weeds..some might advocate using chemicals here..but I just dig it all out... then see what you've got left and visit the garden centre.... I do love walls...grow nice things on that with some support...

...huge monster growing up in the middle of that wall...lol... no idea what it is...

24/10/2013 at 17:59