Forum home Garden design
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Hello! Just joined...

I want to take up my lawn and turn it into a meadow,  any advice is really welcome! Sorry the pic is really misleading, I'm a newbie to the forum and the aspect ratio is wrong... pic taken from the terrace which is 10 ft high.  The lawn is about 80ft long x 20ft, to the greenhouse on the right and another 40 ft to the veg beds at the bottom.  I've been looking at bulk buying wildflower seed but it's a bit scary!

Sorry uploaded the wrong pic, this is more recent!  I would really appreciate some help!

• Rosie31Rosie31 Posts: 483

I'd agree with Edd - scarify and over-sow.  Also, go for some wildflower plug plants that you can plant direct into the soil - they'll establish faster and self-seed.  Do you have a neighbour with lots of wildflowers?  They might let you take a few.  (For example, in our garden primroses are everywhere, and I'm more than happy for friends to come and dig them up for themselves....there never seems to be any fewer the next year!)

• I'm going to post some more pics later as my garden is a nightmare. The pic above shows the main lawn, but I've got the same again in a L shape, but with a  major incline and a SERIOUS ground elder problem.  Really struggling to keep it up together and work full time!  I've grown wild flowers from seed before, but the crouch grass kills them...  I'll go for scarify as it's soo less painful!  Thanks for the advice!

• LeadFarmerLeadFarmer Posts: 1,496

You have a lovely garden, and a great backdrop. Why not leave a strip of lawn unmown, but add some wildflower plug pants. Or just dig out some boarders for wildflower planting, something like below..

http://i232.photobucket.com/albums/ee192/thebear843/cb0a0969-62a7-4939-be1c-61f1ab231ee6_zps51a1fbfa.jpg

Looking up the garden from the greenhouse.

• FleurisaFleurisa Posts: 779