London (change)
Today 21°C / 15°C
Tomorrow 16°C / 13°C
14 messages
wjp
30/12/2013 at 12:51

Hi All,

we've just moved into a house with a nice garden. I can see that in its day it was a very nicely done garden but it gone to pot a bit over the last few years. I want to get it back! Firstly though, I want to plant some evergreens (ideally) along this border to hide/soften the red brick.

Photo here:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B23R0OR1YV6ua2RCeFhaS2hveVYtdDRzVlk5TlVEUUN4NGlV/edit?usp=sharing

I sit and look at this all day from my office at home, and i really don't like it. I want to plant some fast growing trees at the back to try and breakup/cover all that red and give some more privacy. However I'm new to all this, so would love some suggestions if anyone has any. Obviously leylandii would 'do the job' but it wouldn't really sit well in the garden and all around the borders there is a mix of trees and bushes.

30/12/2013 at 13:54
Hi WJP,

Is the wall you are trying to hide yours or a neighbours? If its yours i would think about a climber to soften it - maybe a rose if it is south facing, or a hydrangea if its north.

If it is not your wall, and you are just trying to hide it, then a beech hedge would fit in with the surroundings maybe better than an evergreen. Although beech is deciduous it hangs on to its leaves all winter, so is never bare - and the russet leaves would go well with the red brick.
30/12/2013 at 14:01

Rather than try and blot it out completely I'd bring the planting forward and give yourself something interesting to look at. Another couple of small trees grouped with one of the 2 in the pic, not in a line. A largeish evergreen shrub, also brought forward, some deciduous flowering ones and lots of bulbs and perennials to flower through the year

30/12/2013 at 14:06

The trees will help break up the outline of the slab of wall when they have leaves on in the summer.