20 messages
30/06/2014 at 23:12

Hi Guys,

Total Newbie Here!

I'm looking to change my front garden completely!

Feel free to suggest any ideas you have!

I was thinking about a wall climbing plant but thats about the best i have!

Thanks!

P.S

Attached are photos of a basic plan of the front garden and a google streetview photo!

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/51186.jpg?width=340&height=350&mode=max

Not To Scale ^

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/51187.jpg?width=297&height=211&mode=max

30/06/2014 at 23:26
How about a ton of lavender next to the path? There's a deal on for 40 odd lavender plants for about ??6. Would give you a nice smell!
01/07/2014 at 00:16

That's a nice idea, i don't like the smell at the moment so would definitely make an improvement!

01/07/2014 at 07:10
Would be useful to know which way your garden faces? Lavenders would need full sun

Also what is your soil like?

And you say you want a complete change from what's there now, is it the systole or the specific plants, colours which you don't like?

Sorry for all the QStack but we can then tailor the answer accordingly : )
01/07/2014 at 11:17

Well firstly my Garden Faces North West.

The Soils Fairly Good aswell

I just want to change it something new because i don't really like the plants that much and also i haven't done anything to it since moving in so i would like to impose my own influence on it.

01/07/2014 at 15:58
Hi Joel, as Chrissie said, what sort of things do you like? Minimalistic, romantic, formal?
Are we talking box balls, clipped bay lolly pops or a over the top rose? So many things you can do
I would probably lean towards formal looking at the style of house
01/07/2014 at 16:14
Hi J
You could try a Japanese theme, minimal planting and easy maintenance
You could try a Acer dissectum, some nice architectural stones, fine gravel and some low lying plants for colour
Edd
01/07/2014 at 16:19

Hi joel tiley.