Forum home Garden design
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

New bed

Hello all.

I'm a new garden enthusiast! Since buying our first house, its been a project and a half! but to my surprise I have totally got the gardening bug!! I can't get enough of it. however I am still learning and need lots of advice. My hubby and I recently dug up a a new bed at the end of the garden. It gets plenty of sun in the morning, and shade late afternoon. The original garden/soil is quite stoney and clay like. We have spent a lot of time and effort getting the lawn really green and weed free. But I really wanted to make feature at the end. We have a tree that overhangs and I have a sort of wild bit growing which I like. But for my new bed I really don't know what to plant in there. I want quite fast growing, hardy perennials and hopefully lots of colour too. I ideally would like them to grow big and tall to cover the weird concrete bank that has formed from the fence. Im sure none of this makes sense with out photos!! Thanks in advance and I will post some pics shortly image  

• Busy Bee2Busy Bee2 Posts: 1,005