Forum home Garden design
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

New Gardener . . . New House . . . What would you plant?

Hello,

I have recently moved into a quaint (aka needs a lot of work) home in the Los Angeles area.  I have little gardening experience.  The exterior of the home was not taken of and I have stripped out a lot of dying/dead plants and have essentially a blank canvas in which to work with.  I find myself going to the nursery but I get scared to pull the trigger on purchases having  little experience in this world.  So I am asking for help.  What would you plant in these areas?

Front door:

http://i688.photobucket.com/albums/vv241/jestein/photo5_zps217e9683.jpg

I tore out some grotesque shrub and have hidden the dirt with planters.  I could leave the planters or remove them.  The soil here is very compact, theres not a lot of area and there are pipes and such not that far underneath the soil.  

Front door to the right:

http://i688.photobucket.com/albums/vv241/jestein/photo4_zps83c61ef5.jpg

I put in that mexican feather grass and planted roughly 300 bulbs throughout the bed (which you can see sprouting a little).  I have room to plant a small amount next to the feather grass.  

Front of house:

http://i688.photobucket.com/albums/vv241/jestein/photo2_zps0d7bae05.jpg

There were two shrubs like the one on the left in the planter.  I ripped both of them out.  The shrub I left wass the smallest of the three.  The planter that is attached to the house is not that wide (1 ft) and not that deep (1 ftish).  There's a trellis which you could grow something up.  I could also rip out the two remaining shrub things.  I have no idea what to plant here.

Side of the house:

http://i688.photobucket.com/albums/vv241/jestein/photo3_zps58c40f42.jpg