London (change)
Today 22°C / 15°C
Tomorrow 16°C / 13°C
7 messages
19/02/2012 at 20:49

Hi all,

I'm new to gardening and like the idea of growing my own veg and having a nice flower border and containers. My problem is my garden is 8m x 8m and mainly laid to lawn. The soil is very moist all year round due to bad drainage and it is shady most of day.

What can I grow, if anything?!!

Please help, any ideas greatfully received! 

20/02/2012 at 21:06

It cannot be healthy living so near such dampness, so could you not get the drainage problem fixed?

28/04/2012 at 10:08
Did you resolve your drainage problem? Every hole I've dug this winter has filled with water. As its drying I'm digging deep ditches around the edge of the garden and one under where my path will go, about a foot deep by a foot wide. I'm filling these with the stones that I find ( my soil is full of stones) but if I run short i'll buy some pea shingle, line the trench then fill it in) the idea is that the water should go into these field drains. If its reall bad then in the lowest corner dig an even deeper hole (a soak away) and have your trenches leading to it. Mine is really bad with a very high water table so I'm going to put a porous pipe in the trench under my path. It will just gentle slope down to the deep hole at the end of the garden. A piece oforous weed suppressing membrane on top of the stones isn't essential but will help keep the spaces between the stones free. If the trenches are too much, it's worth finding the lowest corner and digging a huge hole and just filling that with stones to act as a soak away. I've dug a few trenches (hard work as I have a muscular problem) but they're still full of water at the moment so will finish it when the weather permits. It's like Venice out there. With the earth that coming out of the trenches I'm making raised beds with railway sleepers for those plants that cannot tolerate wet feet. All the best. It's such hard work but it will be oh so worth it.