London (change)
Today 7°C / 2°C
Tomorrow 8°C / 7°C
5 messages
23/03/2014 at 16:09

Hello everyone,

I am a relative newbie to gardening. My dad is very much into gardening, and I learned some very basic tips and things from him, it wasn't something I was overly interested in as a child.

But as I live in my own (well rented) property, and the opportunity has arisen, me and the OH have spent a little bit of time and money in making the garden look attractive.

We live in a very built up area, which is very convenient for work, but for that we sacrificed a private, rear garden. What we do have is a off road driveway, with borders, a small patch of grass and a small patio type area which we have started to fill with various pots for a cottagey feel in keeping with the house. We don't want to do too much to the borders as we may not be here a long time with ever changing jobs, and I'd hate to put a lot of work into it, and then to not be able to enjoy them and watch it bloom, which is difficult enough as it is, with it being a front garden, with no privacy. Oh how I long for a rear garden with fences and a bench which I can sit in and lap up!

I bought the OH a very small, and cheap, greenhouse in which to store our propagators, which leads me to my main query, when we planted our seeds we would share a packet of seeds per row of cells, and there's six cells per row. We planted them a week ago to the day, and we've had significant growth from my Zinnia's, Carnations and Dahlia's, and his Marigolds. They have sprouted up thick and fast, around 10 seedlings per tray. When should we thin them, and how severely? And should it be one packet of seeds per propagator?

As I say, I'm a total novice at growing from seed, so any need to know tips are much appreciated.

23/03/2014 at 18:42