London (change)
Today 16°C / 14°C
Tomorrow 16°C / 8°C
14 messages
16/02/2013 at 16:08

Dear Gardners

I am creating an event called Philosophy Garden. It is a Philosophy, Storytelling and Arts Festival and will be part of Brighton Fringe. There is a garden that people can sit in between events. I want to plant things in my tiny garden at home which I can cut and take to the event. I also want to plant pots, and hopefully climbing things which I can transport and drape around pillars etc at the event. My question is, can you please advise me about what I can plant not to be ready in v early May? Thank you.

Fleur

16/02/2013 at 16:16

So you are asking what can you plant now-in your garden- that will be in full bloom in 10 weeks?

That is quite a tall order for anybody-do you have a budget?-a greenhouse to bring things on?-and what experience do you have?

16/02/2013 at 16:26

£100, a tiny green house, I have been gardening for many years but I tend to look after things that I have been given rather than plan/design.

16/02/2013 at 16:29

I think you would of need to plant now but slow the process of the plants opening before you need them.I hope all goes well and you find the advice you need.

16/02/2013 at 16:30

How many plants do you have in mind?

16/02/2013 at 16:36

What flowers in early May? Wallflowers? Cherry blossom?

Pots of tulips? (would be nice, and might be feasible).

Any chance of borrowing any nice big green bushes or trees in pots from a nursery (in exchange for giving them some free advertising).

Could you get some art students to make some artifical trees, like theatrical props.

16/02/2013 at 17:01

My winter pansies and violas are still in flower in early May. I dig them up to plant the summer bedding in late May and sometimes it seems a shame when they are still in flower.

16/02/2013 at 17:09