London (change)
Today 15°C / 14°C
Tomorrow 16°C / 8°C
19 messages
19/03/2013 at 11:13

Hi 

I have very little gardening experience. My front garden is covered in slate and we want to turf it and put a medium to small tree in the centre. It has full sun and I think clay soil. I would like a tree with a good shape  ( preferably round) and one that is very hardy. Ideas please.

19/03/2013 at 11:28

What about Amalanchier http://apps.rhs.org.uk/plantselector/plant?plantid=116 or a crab apple?

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-17yqxZ4W_Ew/TaXjYB616KI/AAAAAAAAG-8/pvEqhJGH3lg/s1600/Crab+Apple13.JPG

With crab apples you can choose light or dark pink blossom or for the autumn fruits, from yellow to pink or red. Above is a crab apple.

19/03/2013 at 12:45

I will second Amalanchier as it is a light tree. I have 3 now as I was so impressed with the first.

A Japanese Cherry tree is another option - various varities to choose from.

Japanese maples are also suitable front garden trees as are some varities of Sambucus.

19/03/2013 at 16:19

I have amalanchier on my 'list' , They have bloosom, berries for birds and amazing autumn colour but recently have added a Cercis Forest Pansy to the list- if you google it it looks fantastic for colour and interest and is small.

19/03/2013 at 20:02

I am glad you are going to turf your front garden ,so many gardens are dull with gravel or brick.I have seen here in a small front garden a grass lawn with a circle bed with a variegated holly with berries and small flower borders surrounding .It looks lovely and refreshing,the holly is cut in a ball shape.

19/03/2013 at 20:49

I would choose Amelanchier ,too

Pam LL x

20/03/2013 at 16:13

Three years ago I planted a small magnolia stellata in my front garden.    It faces due north, and is subject to strong north winds, but the magnolia has flowered beautifully each year since.     I believe they only grow to about three metres, but if it eventually outgrows the garden, I will be long gone!