Forum home Garden design
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Suggestions for filling a small south facing border

Would love some direction 

I've got a small border which is against a low red brick wall (about 70cm high). The dimensions of border are 3 metres wide by about 60cm deep. 

I'm a total novice and early this year decided to fill the empty border with lovely spring and early summer bulbs...which looked fabulous for a few weeks.

My problem is that now it's full of dying leaves and nothing filling it out. I'm due to have my first baby at the end of August & so will have little time to maintain and will have lots (I hope) visitors So would like it to look pretty August September October. 

Mum has agreed to help me dig it over and replant....but what to buy?!

South facing garden. Love purples, whites, blues flowers.

Any suggestions of combinations you've found effective? I promise to out a before and after picture on 

Thanks 

• Dave MorganDave Morgan Posts: 3,123

If it's well drained try Cistus, pink's whites even a yellow, lovely colour for full sun and covered in papery blooms that only last a few days, but they repeat flower and go on to the first frosts, an under rated small shrub in my opinion.

• The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • hogweedhogweed Posts: 4,053

With a baby due at the end of August you are going to have little or no time for the next few years so you need something that has little or no maintenance. . How about a row of lavender plants. Plant them up, cover the soil with chipped bark - job done. After the initial few waterings, you won't even have to bother too much about keeping it well watered.  A bit of a haircut in the spring and you are good to go. Your spring bulbs should come up again.

'Optimism is the faith that leads to achievement' - Helen Keller
  • DovefromaboveDovefromabove Posts: 88,139