Forum home Garden design
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

The long game

Hello, 

My name is Dan, I'm 28 and I am new to gardening. image Eight months ago I moved into a gorgeous cottage on the Caerhays Estate near St Austell, after a month of cleaning and redecoration. But that's a story for another forum/website.

The garden is quite big (I'll see if i can upload a pic)

The grass hadn't been cut in two years and its a blank canvas. 

It was left over the winter and in march i attacked it with a strimmer as it was way too long for a mower. I left it to recover for a month and then attempted to tame it with my  other halves, cousins, lawn mower. After 3 long hours (the mower is a tad old) we have a semi-respectable lawn

For those studying these pictures you will notice that i found a shed (former outside toilet) underneath the ivy. image

I have more images and things that i have done in front of the house but i thought i would show you my lawn first and introduce you to my "Long Game".

Hope you enjoy and i will no doubt call on you expertise soon.

Dan x

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Posts: 88,138

I'm impressed .... it seems you've tackled the lawn very sensibly .... you say you're new to gardening, but you appear to have a gardener's intuition - and what a lovely part of the world you're living in - we visit when we can, for holidays and meet up with friends originally made on other fora.

I'll look forward to watching the progress of your plot - good luck and may the weather be with you image

Gardening in Central Norfolk on improved gritty moraine over chalk ... free-draining.

• weejennyweejenny Posts: 386

Really exciting a blank canvas..image

• Zoomer44Zoomer44 Posts: 3,267

It looks like alot of hard work ahead but how exciting to have such a large open space to work with and do as you please.

Happy gardening.

• The DoctorThe Doctor Posts: 177